Holy Orders

Holy Orders is the sacrament by which people called by God are ordained for ministry in the Church to serve God and all of God’s people. It is called Holy Orders, in the plural, because there are three different ministries, or orders: episkopos (bishop), presbyter (priest), and diakonos (deacon).

There are two kinds of deacons: permanent and transitional. A transitional deacon is a man who either has completed or is completing his seminary training and intends to be ordained a priest. A permanent deacon is a man (who may be married) who has discerned that he wants to serve as an ordained minister in the Church; however, he does not intend to become a priest. Deacons proclaim the Gospel and preach homilies, witness marriages, baptize, and assist the priest in the Liturgy of the Eucharist. Deacons are also assigned by the bishop to pastoral care ministry, such as to a hospital, prison, hospice, Life Support Center, etc.

The Bishop of the Diocese of Colorado Springs has entrusted the care of the Tri-Community to the Congregation of Holy Cross. For more information about this religious community, and about its formation programs to become a priest or brother of Holy Cross, please visit www.vocation.nd.edu.

You may find more information about becoming a priest of the Diocese of Colorado Springs, how to become a permanent deacon in this diocese, or more about other religious communities serving in the Diocese of Colorado Springs, at http://www.diocs.org/Vocations.